What’s Brewing: Burundi Musumba Natural – Monastery Coffee, Adelaide

I like people who really appreciate what is involved in getting a cup of decent coffee on the table. I especially like these lines from this blog “there may at times be a sense of ‘story fatigue’ in specialty coffee. Of course every coffee has its own origin story — equally as valid and important as the one I am passing on to you here. Reading a little further on the plight of farmers in Burundi however, reinforces that these are not only stories on the back of a coffee bag. These are real people, often struggling to survive each and every day, in conditions we in our comfortable lives will never experience.”

Pete Denison

img_6464Almost all of the coffees I write about here on the blog are those I have purchased as green stock and roasted myself. This has been an intentional approach as the aim of my coffee writing here was never to be a café or coffee review site as such.

So what exactly, is the aim? As I’ve mentioned in the past, it is to share my enthusiasm for learning more about this humble brew which brings so many of us together across the globe. Part of this has always included looking into the growing regions and farms where these coffees are produced (assuming such information is available), and the Musumba Hill co-operative in the African nation of Burundi is what I’d like to explore a little further today.

I picked up a bag of the Burundi Musumba from Strauss in Brisbane’s CBD when the coffee was featured as part of…

View original post 1,597 more words

Leave a Reply

